spec

As many of you know, I’m the Alberta Editor over at The Spectator Tribune. What that means is that I am in charge of all the Alberta content you see on the site. I oversee the Alberta writers, make sure we have content and publish it to the site daily. I also still try to write articles myself (though I haven’t in a while – I need to get on that!), and I help the head editor, Toban, with managing the homepage of the site and editing anything he throws my way. It’s awesome. I love this job and I love The Spectator Tribune. It really is a site like no other – dedicated to getting news out about the prairies, an area of the country that is sometimes forgotten about in mainstream media.

Over at The Spectator Tribune we’ve just launched an Indiegogo campaign to generate some funding. As of right now, the site isn’t bringing in much revenue. It’s been online since October, our readership is nicely growing and we’ve got ad campaigns that are slowly generating money, but so far none of our writers have been paid to write the excellent content you see on the site. In an effort to push The Spectator Tribune into a place where it is self-sustaining and profitable, we’ve started this Indiegogo campaign to raise funds to pay our hard working writers now.

Here’s the link: http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-spectator-tribune

There are some great rewards for donating to the cause, especially if you have a business or something you’d like to promote. If you feel like this is something you’d like to support, that’d be lovely. If not, that’s OK too! Our hope is that this project can stay online and continue building momentum until it gets to a place where it sustains itself.

Thanks for reading this shameless plug. Happy Thursday to you all!

