books

Remember when I had that goal to read 36 books in 2012? Yeah, I didn’t make it. I got stuck in the summer on a giant book titled New York by Edward Rutherford. I thought it’d be a lark to read about the history of New York after visiting, but what I hadn’t taken into consideration was the SIZE of the book and the BUSYNESS of our summer. So I didn’t actually read much of anything all of August because I was stuck. (I think I’ve written about this before…apologies for the repetition).

Anyway, I did manage to read 20 books in 2012, which actually has a better ring to it, so we’ll pretend that was my goal all along. Here’s the list for those interested:

  1. Half-Blood Blues – Esi Edugyan
  2. My Lucky Life In and Out of Show Business – Dick Van Dyke
  3. The Sentimentalists – Joanna Skibsrud
  4. Frankenstein’s Womb – Warren Ellis
  5. Lady Oracle – Margaret Atwood
  6. The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed – John Vaillant
  7. Stumptown – Greg Rucka
  8. The Help – Kathryn Stockett
  9. The Sun Also Rises – Ernest Hemingway
  10. Heaven is Here – Stephanie Nielson
  11. A Moveable Feast – Ernest Hemingway
  12. The Accidental Billionaires – Ben Mezrich
  13. The Rules of Inheritance – Claire Bidwell-Smith
  14. Adrian Mole: The Wilderness Years – Sue Townsend
  15. Adrian Mole: The Cappuccino Years – Sue Townsend
  16. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Safran Foer
  17. The Postmistress – Sarah Blake
  18. A Stolen Life – Jaycee Dugard
  19. Alpha – Greg Rucka
  20. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? – Mindy Kaling

I’m pretty happy with that list. If I had to pick just one from the list to highly recommend, it would be The Rules of Inheritance by Claire Bidwell-Smith. I think it was my favourite book of 2012.

I was talking to my sister over Christmas and she excitedly told me that she had set a goal for herself in 2012 to ‘read more’ and that she had, indeed, read a lot more books than usual. I thought this was awesome. I liked it much better than my whole plan of ‘read a certain number of books this year’ because I think I was just setting myself up to fail. So, for 2013 I vow to read more. If I’m stuck in a book that just isn’t going anywhere? Well, it’s OK to put it aside and grab a new one. I want to try to always have a book on the go, and I don’t want to have an arbitrary number rattling around in my head as a goal to achieve. Just read more.

What was your favourite book of 2012? I’d love to know.

Happy reading!

