So, here’s a little story:

Five years ago, around this time of the year, Theo and I started dating. In those early days we talked a lot about music – bands we liked, new music we’d just stumbled across, old favourites that we’ll always love. That summer Theo had just discovered Joel Plaskett, a guy from the east coast of Canada who knows how to rock. He suggested I pick up ‘Ashtray Rock,’ Joel’s album that had just come out that year.

Theo and I parted ways for much of the summer, keeping in contact via e-mail and (wince) Facebook. While I was back in Edmonton I picked up Ashtray Rock and, sweet Christmas, it changed a lot of things for me. I can put that album on and, to this day, be transported back to the summer of 2007 when everything was coming up Krista. It is one of my most cherished albums.

Tonight, 5 years almost to the date from that conversation in July, Theo and I saw The Joel Plaskett Emergency live. We braved the hot, sweaty and smelly Stampede crowds and rode the train downtown where we filed into a gigantic tent that had been set up in the middle of the impossibly tall skyscrapers. We shelled out 7 bucks (each!) for beer and snaked our way through the crowd of cowboy hats and plaid shirts to get a good view of the stage.

We ended up with a perfect spot on the floor, able to dance and sing and sway to Joel’s sweet beats. It was one of the best concerts I’ve been to in a while. It was even worth having two beers spilled all over me (it made the experience feel more authentic).

Joel, thanks for an amazing evening.

It’s way too hard to pick a favourite song, but here’s one he played tonight that I love a lot:

You can bet your bottom dollar that I danced my feet off to this one.

OK, fine, I’ll post one more:

Happy Monday!

