**Warning: This post is about The X-Files.**

You had to know this post was coming. 7 intense months and 202 episodes later, we are officially done watching The X-Files series. We haven’t seen the last movie yet, because it feels as though we need to let a bit of time pass before we do (and it’s nice to have it to look forward to).

But the series is over. I can hardly believe it, and I’ve got to say that it was worth every darn minute. I now understand why this show was so popular, why it developed such a loyal cult following and why it still pops up in the mainstream today. It is currently one of the most popular shows on Netflix. While we were watching the series, we heard from a few different friends who had also started watching it (and started loving it) thanks to Netflix. It does seem as if this show is enjoying a sort of renaissance, and now we count ourselves among its most loyal fans.

Here’s the thing about The X-Files: it’s not actually about aliens, or government conspiracies, or the paranormal. At it’s core, it is a love story between two people. I can easily get on board with a good love story, and this is indeed an excellent love story. Sure, the show can get scary and gross at points, but Scully and Mulder are the backbone to every story and that makes it worth watching every single time. Also at its core is the message of unending hope – of believing that there is something greater than all of us going on in the world.

Another great thing is that each episode feels like a mini movie. The writing is (for the most part) fantastic, the music is beautiful and it’s shot in such a way that it doesn’t feel like TV – it’s that cinematic. I’ve read a lot of articles on this, and have learned that during its time, The X-Files was the only show that looked like that. They were doing things no one else had yet thought of in the Television world. This show paved the way for more recent high-quality shows like The Sopranos, Mad Men, The Wire, Breaking Bad, etc.

I’ll admit it: I’m sad this is over. Watching an X-File in the evening with Theo while munching on snacks or sipping a delicious beverage has become one of my very favourite past times. We’re so far behind on our other shows, however, that I suppose this ritual can still be performed – it will just be missing my two favourite FBI agents.

If you haven’t watched this series, I highly recommend it. If you have,  you know what I’m talking about.

Here are a couple of video clips to leave you with. The first one is a short clip that aired on PBS. The show’s creator Chris Carter, one of the best writers, Vince Gilligan, and actress Gillian Anderson (who doesn’t seem to age) talk about The X-Files and basically put into words why I love this show. The second clip is one of my very favourite scenes from the whole series. You just can’t go wrong with Mulder and Scully.

Right?? I know you want to go log on to Netflix now and start watching, so I won’t take up any more of your time. My advice: Push through season 1. It gets so so good in season 2.

