I’ve had a few people ask me lately how my editing business is going. This is a tough question for me to answer. On one hand, it’s going really well – my business is growing and every day I am becoming a better editor. On the other hand, it is really hard. Finding work as a freelancer can sometimes be quite difficult. In April, I had four projects on the go and attended an editing workshop. The month was busy and went by quickly. I enjoyed the work and felt more confident in my role as an editor.

May has now been the opposite of April. Those four projects ended at the end of April and I’ve spent most of May looking for more work. I have a couple of steady clients who keep work flowing, but I’m always looking for new projects. When work slows down, I find myself feeling a bit lost and guilty that this job isn’t full-time. I love editing. I want to be able to fill full-time hours with my editing. The fact of the matter is that growing a business is hard and slow work. In the times when it is slow, I have a bad habit of getting down on myself.

It is in those moments that I have to take stock of what I am doing and why I am doing it. The editing workshop I went to in April opened my eyes to many things, the most important being that:

At the heart of the editing profession is the deep urge to help. Being right isn’t the point of editing; being helpful is the point.

This is why I love editing. I love helping a client take their work and make it the best it can be. I love chatting with authors about their manuscript,  identifying areas that need strengthening and praising areas that are well-written and beautiful.

I’ve got a couple of exciting opportunities coming up for my business in June.

Aside from those, I’ve joined the Editors’ Association of Canada and have accepted a position on the Calgary Association of Freelance Editor’s board. I’ve also begun writing for our community newsletter, and my first article will be published in July.

I’m working with words and am an active part of the publishing industry. It’s exactly where I want to be.

To visit my (newly designed) company website, click here: www.clearcutediting.com

Thanks to everyone who keeps supporting me in this endeavour. Hopefully June will be just as busy as April.

