This is where I spent my weekend. It was glorious.

If you know me, you know that I’m not the biggest skier. We used to go a lot when I was a kid, but then there was a stretch of 6 or so years where I didn’t go at all. This absence led to a greater fear of falling and breaking limbs (strange how age does that to you). But, I married into a ski-crazy family and so over the last couple of years I have been forcing myself to overcome my fear of falling down the mountain and get better at skiing.

This weekend I went skiing with Theo and my siblings-in-law (which is a very big deal for me as they are hardcore and like to ski double black diamonds). They were very nice to me and came up with a plan for a morning of skiing where I could do blue runs and they could do black runs close by and then meet up. It worked out really well and a few of them even stuck with me on the blues (including Theo who wouldn’t let me ski alone, how kind).

Anyway, it was the best day of skiing I’ve had since I was probably 14. So much fun and I’m hardly sore!

 {blue squares and black diamonds}

While we were up here, at one of the highest points, I got to witness a bit of Fernie magic. There were ice crystals floating in the air and the brilliant glare of the sun made huge rainbows in the sky. There was a giant circle rainbow all around the sun and then smaller rainbows scattered throughout the sky. It was AMAZING.

 {photo courtesy of my sister-in-law Allison}

This picture hardly does it justice. We all laid down in the snow on the top of the mountain and watched the shimmering rainbows. It was a perfect moment.

I’m pretty sure I could get used to this skiing thing.

Hope you had a lovely weekend. Cheers to a new week!

