Our alarm in the morning is set to CBC Radio 1, so when it goes off at 6am the first thing we hear are the news headlines. Theo usually gets up pretty quick to turn it off so that we don’t have to listen to all of the awful things that are happening in the world. Lately we’ve been setting the alarm for 5:58 so that we are not bombarded with sad, depressing news and get to instead listen to the beginning of the Eye Opener, the morning CBC show that we do enjoy.

Sometimes, if I listen to too much news during the day I get really down. We stay well-informed on what’s happening both in the world and in our own city, but there is a limit to how much news I can handle during the day. I’ve been making a conscious effort to listen to more music, interesting podcasts or just be in silence during the day while I work and it’s made a big difference on my mood.

 {working away yesterday}

This morning, however, I’ve already listened to too much news (and it’s only 7:30am!).

So, I feel it necessary to record 5 things that I am grateful for right now. 5 good things:

…2 ongoing editing projects…

…a bowl of homemade granola, yogurt, dried cranberries and fresh strawberries…

…a husband who encourages and supports me, even though I don’t contribute as much money as he does and my job isn’t as secure or reliable as his is. He has always encouraged me to be an editor, because it’s what I want…

…the privilege of working from home, because even though it can be hard to stay motivated, it definitely is a privilege that I know a lot of people wish they had…

…a roof over our heads, hot running water and a furnace that works, especially on the coldest days…

That feels better. It always helps to focus on the good when the media constantly wants to promote and talk about the bad.

What are you grateful for today?

