I have set a few goals for 2012. Here’s one of them: read more books! It’s no secret, I’m a book lover, but for some reason I only managed to read 18 books last year. Some of you may be thinking, ‘Woah! 18 is a lot!’ and, yes, it is a good number. The thing is, I know I can do better than that. A problem for me is that I tend to spend a lot of time reading stuff on the Internet instead of reading books. I need to balance that out a bit better this year and devote more time to books.

Here are the books I read in 2011:

1. Home – Julie Andrews

2. Room – Emma Donoghue

3. The Bedwetter – Sarah Silverman

4. The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival – John Vaillant

5. The Happiness Project – Gretchen Rubin

6. The Glass Castle – Jeannette Walls

7. Half Broke Horses – Jeannette Walls

8. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

9. The Politician – Andrew Young

10. The City of Falling Angels – John Berendt

11. The Hour I First Believed – Wally Lamb

12. Bossypants – Tina Fey

13. The Cat’s Table – Michael Ondaatje

14. A Large Harmonium – Sue Sorensen

15. Prodigal Summer – Barbara Kingsolver

16. Two Kisses for Maddy – Matt Logelin

17. The Paris Wife – Paula McLean

18. A Widow for One Year – John Irving

I’ve got a pile of books to get me started and am currently reading Christopher Plummer’s memoir, In Spite of Myself. My goal for 2012 is to read double the amount of books from 2011. So, here’s to reading 36 books in 2012! (It just so happens that 36 is one of my favourite numbers – coincidence?).

Happy reading, everyone!

