When the cold comes to town my time spent on Etsy (and now Pinterest) increases significantly. There’s just something so comforting about window shopping without having to go out into the cold. Here are some of my recent finds:

{found here}

 {found here}

 {found here. in related news, I’ve developed quite the obsession with cake stands lately.}

I’ve been doing a lot of Christmas shopping online already and it’s so great. No gross busy malls. I can shop in my pyjamas and not feel weird about it. And, best of all, one click and it arrives at my doorstep! Amazing.

I can’t do it all online, however, and tomorrow on my day out I’m planning on venturing out and knocking a few more names off the list. My goal is to get it done by the beginning of December (I think this is realistic…).

In other news, this week has flown right by me. I’ve worked every day this week and can’t wait to have a day to myself tomorrow to catch up on regular life stuff. Last Friday night we saw Matthew Good in concert. The show was so so good. I’d never seen him live (this was Theo’s third time) and it was great. The only down side was that the crowd was the worst crowd I’ve ever had the misfortune of being a part of. So many rude, drunk and belligerent people yelling during slow songs or between songs and talking back to the people trying to get them to be quiet. It almost ruined the night, but we made an effort to not let it. I just don’t get it when people break all the rules of concert etiquette. But, Matthew Good is awesome and so the night wasn’t ruined:

{Not sure what’s up with this piano and then just a picture of him…it was the only one I could find}

Anyway, switching gears, I’ve been trying to make really healthy meals this week. We generally eat healthy food, but I wanted to make a concentrated effort to eat good, clean food this week. I just feel better when I do that. We’ve discovered a soup recipe that is so delicious and so nutritious.

Hearty Quinoa and Bean Soup

 {I can’t decide if this picture makes it look good, or gross. Trust me, it tasted really good}

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 onion, chopped

1 carrot, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp ground coriander

1/3 cup dry quinoa

2 cups vegetable broth

540 ml can white kidney beans, drained and rinsed

2 cups baby spinach

Heat a large saucepan over medium. Add oil, then onion. Cook until onion is soft, about 3 minutes. Add carrot, garlic, cumin, coriander and quinoa. Cook for 2 more minutes. Pour in broth and 2 cups water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer, partially covered, until quinoa is cooked, about 15 more minutes.

Stir in beans and spinach. Cook until beans are hot and spinach is wilted, 2 to 3 more minutes. Serve immediately.

Serves 4.

Yum. This is a good one for a cold day.

This post got really random – just a glimpse into what’s been going on around here lately.

