I know I said I’d do a book review every Thursday. It’s funny how when you declare that something will be done every week on a certain day, it just doesn’t get done. So from now on, I’m just going to say that every week I’ll do a book review. It may be on a Thursday, or on a Tuesday OR on a Friday!

How happy are you that today is Friday? We are very happy (even though it’s report card writing weekend for Theo – ugh).

Lately I’ve really been into non-fiction books, particularly memoirs. A few months ago my sister-in-law Kalyn recommended The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls. Kalyn described it as a quick, absorbing and immensely interesting book. She lent it to me and, yeah, I couldn’t put it down.

It is a memoir that recounts the author’s unconventional upbringing amid great poverty. Her parents are dysfunctional, free-spirited and emotionally absent from their children’s lives. They live a nomadic life, constantly on the run from various people and institutions to whom they owe great debts. They live in trailers, abandoned train stations, shacks, and leaky houses with no insulation.

When you read this book, you have to wonder if it is all actually true. The circumstances this family lives in and the daily adventures they find themselves in almost have to be fictional. But, they aren’t. After I read this, I became a bit obsessed with Jeannette Walls and her strange childhood. I was interested in how she overcame such immense obstacles to become a successful author. I read and listened to many interviews with her and immediately borrowed her second book, Half Broke Horses, from Kalyn (it is also very good).

This book is a fast read, incredibly interesting and also heartbreaking. It is a book that you won’t want to put down.

Speaking of books you won’t want to put down, I’m in the middle of one right now and am anxious to make some tea and dive back into it.

Happy Weekend to you!

