I’ve decided to start something new on this blog. Every Thursday I’ll talk about a book that I think is just great. I’ve been keeping a list of every book I’ve read in 2011, and another list of all the books I want to read. Now that summer is almost here (it’s feeling summery today – no rain!), my hope is that these Thursday book recommendations will help build your summer reading lists. Because really, summer reading lists are one of the best parts of the season.

To start off, here is the list of books I’ve read, so far, in 2011:

  1. Home – Julie Andrews
  2. Room – Emma Donoghue
  3. The Bedwetter – Sarah Silverman
  4. A Widow For One Year – John Irving
  5. The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival – John Vaillant
  6. The Happiness Project – Gretchen Rubin
  7. The Glass Castle – Jeannette Walls
  8. Half Broke Horses – Jeannette Walls
  9. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
  10. The Politician – Andrew Young
  11. The City of Falling Angels – John Berendt
I’ll write a bit of a review for each one that I would recommend, and then move on to some of my favourite books of all time.
Today I’m starting with:
Way back in January I mentioned that I was reading Room by Emma Donoghue. By now, I’m sure that some of you have read it, as it garnered major buzz within Canada (it was short-listed for the Man Booker Prize). If you haven’t read it yet, I highly recommend it. The story is narrated by a 5-year-old boy named Jack, who lives in a single room with his Ma and has never been outside. Ever.
All that he knows of the world is contained within the tiny room where he has lived for his entire life.
This book will make you look at your surroundings differently. It will change how you view your own freedom. Jack is able to take the traumatizing circumstances in which he finds himself and turn them into a story about the love between a mother and her son. Of course, in the beginning he doesn’t realize he is missing out on anything. He thinks that the entire world is that one room. It is so interesting to read this from his point of view and see how he makes that tiny room come alive with story, play and imagination.
This book does center around troubling subject matter (kidnapping, imprisonment), but because it is told from Jack’s point of view, it is unlike all other books on this subject.
This is a quick read, as you will want to get through it to see how everything turns out.
Happy Reading!
