Carnations get a bad rap. I’ve never understood the thinking that since they are a cheap flower, they shouldn’t be given the time of day. I think they are perfectly lovely.

Right now, they are doing a great job of bringing a (much needed) bit of spring into our house.

This afternoon I am volunteering with a local organization called Calgary Reads. Every so often they hold a reading celebration in a school and us volunteers go and spend the afternoon reading to grades 1 and 2 children. There is also a mobile Calgary Public Library that comes to the school with a wide selection of books, and there is usually a guest author that comes and does a reading for the entire group.

I’m really excited to volunteer my time, and am looking forward to the happiness this will bring to the kids.

Sometimes it’s the inexpensive things that bring the most unexpected pleasure.

