Last night I deactivated my Facebook account. This was a decision that I put a lot of thought into, and while I admit this might sound silly, it was a really hard thing for me to do. It’s not deleted permanently, just deactivated. I did this for Lent, which begins today (the tradition of giving something up for the 40 days before Easter). I’d been toying with the idea for a while. I don’t like how much time I spend on Facebook, how I just use it to look at what other people are doing with their lives instead of being up and about and doing something with my own life. I got tired of the black hole it can become, sucking away my time, time that I can’t get back. Obviously I was on Facebook way too much.

Last night, when I deactivated it, a page came up that said:

“But Sheila will miss you! Erin will miss you! Heather will miss you! Theodore will miss you!”

This was accompanied by pictures of me with these people, laughing and having fun. I had a good laugh at that page and showed it to Theo. We wondered if that tactic works to keep people from deactivating. It is certainly manipulating, in a creepy way. For me, after seeing that page, my decision was reaffirmed. In all of those pictures with my friends and family, we were outside, in the world. Visiting, laughing, making memories. Not sitting on Facebook together.

I do believe that Facebook has a place, and is a great way to connect with friends and family who live far away. I will go back to Facebook after Easter, and hopefully I will have learned that my days can be filled with more productive, exciting and fun things. Hopefully, in becoming more creative and productive with my time, Facebook will be just an accessory to my days and not a place where most of my time is spent.

Wish me luck?

