This morning my thoughts feel scattered. We were promised a one day chinook, waking up to -8 and watching it rise to +4. Well guess what? At 10:10am it’s still -20. I didn’t get my hopes up too high for the one day chinook and so I’m not too surprised that it’s still quite cold. This stretch of endless cold is reminding me of what it was like in Winnipeg during the winter. I’m so not impressed Calgary…

But in spite of the cold, things are moving along around here. This week has felt long and tough. It’s hard owning a small business that’s just starting out. It can be very discouraging, frustrating and bewildering. I do have a couple of clients, but it is proving to not be enough. I don’t have enough to do (woah, I hardly ever admit that because it makes me feel bad and guilty about myself). I’ve been toying with the idea of getting some part time joe job somewhere, just for something else to do. We’ll see.

Something exciting that is in the works is the digital publishing house I have begun creating with my two brothers in law. We’ve formed a partnership, named the company and started building the website. I’ve also begun editing the first book that we are going to publish and I am SO excited about this.  I’m not going to share too many details until the website is up and you can take a look at it all for yourself. This is just a heads up to let you know that big things are coming, and perhaps I’m just in that calm spot before a storm and flurry of activity. Maybe I shouldn’t look for a job at Starbucks after all.

It’s just that this small business thing takes patience. Loads of patience. Patience to know that I am doing the right thing, that I’m following my dream and trying to make it a reality. The patience to know that with all of this hard work, it will come together eventually.

My birthday is in three days, and boy does that ever make this long, cold and dreary week seem a lot better.

Here’s to patience, looking forward, and following your dream (even if it’s hard).

Cheers to Thursday.

Oh look at that, the mailman just dropped off a cheque for some editing I did in February. Things are starting to look up already.

(A birthday cheesecake from last weekend’s birthday celebrations)

