Since writing the post about The Happiness Project, I’ve heard from a lot of people who have read the book, are reading the book, or want to read the book. I’m still not finished it yet, as I’m really taking my time to understand everything she’s talking about. I’ve gained so much knowledge and have so many ideas for small changes I can make in my day to day life to cause more happiness.

A great website related to The Happiness Project is The Happiness Project Toolbox: http://www.happinessprojecttoolbox.com/

On this site, you can create your own profile and then write out resolutions, personal commandments and even keep your own inspiration board. So far I’ve used it for logging the resolutions I’ve made. I don’t normally like the word resolution, and I tend to think of these as small challenges and promises to myself, instead of resolutions. Somehow that makes them easier to accomplish, because the word resolution carries with it so much baggage. The great thing about this site is that every day you can give yourself a check mark if you’ve completed the challenge, or write a note if you struggled with it.

I now find that during the day I think about those check marks I can give myself when I complete a task and for some strange reason it gives me tons of encouragement to stick to my challenges.

Here are some of the small challenges I’ve set for myself:

* Drink 2 liters of water a day. This is just over 8 cups. I’ve got a few different glasses that I love and each holds 2 cups of water. I try to drink 2 in the morning and 3 in the afternoon. I’ve done this every day this week and I really can feel the difference. My body feels better, my skin looks better and I feel more alert.

* Floss teeth every day. I’ve always struggled with flossing my teeth regularly. It’s just always seemed like so much work. But then I read a study about flossing and apparently you can add 6 years onto your life by just flossing your teeth every day! Woah. My Grandpa the dentist will be pleased to know that I have flossed my teeth every day for the past week and a half and guess what? It’s not that much work. In fact, I now look forward to it before bed because it makes my mouth feel SO clean. Love it.

* Complete a nagging task. OK, this challenge has been great for me. There are so many things that nag at me during my days, and sometimes I feel overwhelmed and don’t get anything accomplished. By challenging myself to complete one nagging task a day (e-mail someone back, deposit that cheque, salt the sidewalk so the mail man doesn’t slip, clean out a cupboard etc.), I find that I can get a lot done.

This is only a sampling of the small challenges I’ve set for myself. If you’re interested, I’d encourage you to go to this site and start your own tool box. It’s a great way to keep yourself accountable.

Happy Thursday!

 

