Whoops. I guess I overestimated my ability to post every day about something Christmasy.

Hopefully today’s post will make up for an absent Thursday and Friday post on the blog.

This weekend we drove up to Edmonton for an early Christmas holiday with my family. Highlights included baking peanut butter balls and shortbread cookies, watching Home Alone and Elf, cuddling with Molly, watching Scott’s hockey game, visiting over coffee in the morning and going out for dinner.

But perhaps the biggest highlight was the 2010 Allen Christmas Tree hunt:

(Theo and Scott haul the tree out to the truck)

(It’s a beauty. Also, it is over 9 ft tall and very very full. Good job, everyone.)

I hope you all had a very lovely weekend.

Tomorrow I am going to post some Christmas recipes. (Spoiler: it will include a peppermint bark recipe. mmm)

