My newfound direction in life means that I must try different things in order to get connected with people, companies and ideas. I have resisted twitter for a long time. It just has never appealed to me and I’ve never really understood the benefit of it. I’ve always thought of twitter as this strange world where people just post one liners about what they’re making for supper.

Until yesterday.

You see, I came to the realization that twitter might actually be able to help me in my effort to become more involved in both the local and global editing scene. I realized that instead of dismissing it as ‘silly’ I should embrace it for the doors it could possibly open.

So I signed up.

I have yet to ‘tweet’ anything, mostly because I’m unsure of what I would say. Right now I’m using it to find people and businesses related to editing and let me tell you, it’s a gold mine of information. I’ve got tweets coming in about job opportunities and links to essays and webpages that are very helpful.

I just wish I had something better to tweet in return than “making corn chowder for supper!”

Because really, that’s not going to help anyone.

(but I really am making corn chowder for supper)

*picture from here: Books and little Bird

