This weekend was definitely all it was cracked up to be.

We rested, went out with friends, had good conversation, found new places to love in Calgary and I, personally, made a big decision.

I have decided to not go to school this year and to instead shift my focus entirely on my editing career.

I have been going to University, full time or half time, for the past 7 years. In many ways it feels as though I am quitting a long term job, and I guess it is sort of like that. I came to a realization this weekend that if I am serious about editing, I need to seriously do it.

To get ahead in the editing world, you need experience. I have my 4 year BA with a major in English and this will definitely help me, but I also need to do more editing to build my resume.

I have never felt so good about a school/work related decision in my life. This is exactly what I need to be doing. I’m aware that it is going to be hard, but I am so ready and willing to put in the time and effort that is necessary to do what I want with my life.

Wish me luck.

