An open letter to my favourite restaurant in Winnipeg:

Dearest NIKOS:

It has been eight months since we last visited. I needed to write you this letter to tell you how much I miss you and your delicious food. Last night, while waiting for sleep to come, I was overwhelmed with memories of your delicious veggie gyros. They are unparalleled and I have searched Calgary in vain to find an equally delicious Greek wrap but have had no luck. The warm pita bread, Greek salad full of feta, and the most scrumptious fries I’ve ever consumed are memories that always always make me hungry. Even in the middle of the night.

Not only do I miss your food, but I also miss your charming but strange wait staff who could never remember me or my dear friend Kaelin, even though we went at least once a week for lunch and always always ordered the same thing. So, if it is alright with you, I would like to place an order for two for that point in the future when our paths cross again. We would like one veggie gyro platter, Greek salad to start and please can I have fries instead of rice? Kaelin will have a chicken gyro platter, Greek salad and fries and she would like a side of tzaziki sauce to dip said fries into (I’m fine with vinegar and ketchup). We would also like 2 cups of coffee and some water.

Until we meet again,

I am sincerely and hungrily yours.

