I say this with regret because bookstores are my jam, but buying new books from Amazon might just be the only way to do it. About a week ago we were in Chapters and had spotted these four books, but the price tags were just too much. The front two alone would have cost $60.00 combined. When we got home, I searched them on Amazon and found them at a much cheaper price – plus free shipping! We got all four of these books for less than $60.00. Sorry bookstores, but if I can get the same book for almost half the price? I’m going to take the deal.

Anyway, enough about Amazon. These books have now been added to the pile of summer reads:

The Rules of Inheritance – Claire Bidwell Smith

Alpha – Greg Rucka

Adrian Mole: The Wilderness Years – Sue Townsend

Adrian Mole: The Cappuccino Years – Sue Townsend

I am particularly excited about the last two. I own the first three books in the Adrian Mole series and, good gracious, they are hilarious and immensely enjoyable. They’re British books, and so they are filled with classic British humour. The first one (The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4) was written in 1982, and the last one was released in 2009 (there are 8 books in the series). They center on Adrian Mole, the only child of a lower middle class family from Leicester, England. He believes himself to be a thwarted Great Writer and a scholar who must slog through the every day with his dysfunctional family. The first three books had me laughing out loud more times than I can remember while reading, and I can’t wait to start on these next two. Easy, fun reads – I highly recommend.

What are you looking forward to reading this summer?

